Past the halfway mark!

I’ve just passed two weeks with no added sugar.

I’m feeling so proud of myself because I am a self-proclaimed chocolate addict. And I can’t believe how many things have sugar in them. Some are obvious – condiments and the like, others like canned salmon are not obvious! I’m feeling very positive about the next couple of weeks and I know that I can get through.

As an aside, it’s surprising how many people like to point out obvious things to create a negative spin. I’ve probably done it in the past, but my goodness I am so aware of it now. I have had so many people say “fruit has sugar”, “alcohol has sugar”, “carrots have sugar”. I KNOW! Everything has sugar! But it’s natural sugar. I am cutting out added sugar, which I have said over and over.

Sigh.

Going back to the point of this entry though, I wanted to share that I was a little frustrated that I hadn’t lost more weight.

But I need to remind myself that:

  • I eat lots of nuts, in fact too many I think
  • I wasn’t really “watching” my diet, I just tried to eat normally which is usually healthy

So, I hate to be one of those people (actually I don’t really know who those people are) that try different diets all the time. But I was listening to a podcast the other day and Tim Ferriss was interviewed and talked about his Slow Carb Diet.

Without going on about the interview, I thought it sounded good, healthy and like something I could stick to. Even though I know what is good for me, I feel like I can rationalise anything!

In my head:

  • I can eat nuts, nuts are healthy and contain good fats
  • I can eat this dark chocolate (before the no sugar thing) it has lots of antioxidants
  • I can have a bit of this, because it will prevent a binge later if I have a small amount now

And the list goes on.

So the basics of the Slow Carb Diet are:

  1. Avoid white carbs
  2. Eat the same meals over and over (protein source, legumes and vegetables)
  3. Don’t drink calories
  4. Don’t eat fruit
  5. Take one ‘cheat’ day off per week

1 to 4 are followed for 6 days, and there are no rules for number 5. Although there are some guidelines like eating a healthy breakfast, increasing exercise and only buying enough food for the one day so cheat foods are not around the house for the rest of the week.

It is very early days; I only started last night for dinner and had breakfast this morning following the eating plan (let’s not use that awful D-word). After dinner, I thought there is no way this is going to keep me full, but it did. I would usually have a snack later in the night too, but I didn’t last night and sometimes if I have had a light or early dinner I’ll wake up hungry. But this morning I was fine.

Wish me luck xxx

Leave a Reply

