A sweet little update

I have survived 10 days without sugar!

I can’t believe it. I never thought I could have gone without chocolate for this long, I can’t remember the last time I have gone more than a few days without even a little bit of chocolate. I wouldn’t eat chocolate every day, sometimes not even every second day. But I would definitely have some most days. Sometimes I a little, most times a lot.

If I don’t have chocolate at home, I have made a chocolate sauce and put it over a banana. I would justify it, by saying to myself that I was having fruit. And that it had no fat because I would just make it with cocoa, water and a little honey or sugar. But we all know that sugar is just as bad, if not worse, than fat.

I even got through a few events over the weekend where there were plenty of goodies, including chocolate cake, which I love. But I stayed strong and passed.

What I said in my last post about how the less sugar I eat, the less I seem to want is still true. A few days is easy, motivation is high and it doesn’t take so much willpower. But 10 days! If this was a diet I would usually be really good the first few days, and after that I would slowly start creeping back into old habits. Even over the weekend, I had quite a few drinks on Saturday at a party I was at. And when we getting into the post drinking snacks, I stayed away from foods that have added sugar. Pretty much all the fast food, and no condiments (which is actually harder than no chocolate. A bbq without tomato sauce! Eek!).

Towards the end of last week, I was almost a kilo down. I’m happy with that. Although I have been really good with the no sugar, I haven’t been eating the perfect diet, especially over the weekend. Today, I definitely feel back on track though. So will weigh myself mid week and see how I’m doing. Hopefully the weekend’s eating hasn’t put me a step backwards. 

Leave a Reply

